Forum Discussion

RebeccaLutz
Qrew Trainee
3 months ago

Tracking References and Definitions

I am relatively new to QB, but am excited about the possibilities for tracking multiple things.

I have a table containing the names of documents within our system (primary).  Each of those primary documents reference other documents.  In addition, each primary document has a set of abbreviations/terms.

I have built a table (table 1) with the documents and their identifiers.  There is a second table (table 2) that has a list of universal abbreviations/terms.

In a third table, I would like to choose a single primary document from table 1.  Then I would like to choose multiple documents from table 1 that the primary document references in the text.  Then I would like to choose the multiple abbreviations/terms from table 2 to associate with the primary document.

Example:  POL-0001 has a reference to SOP-1001, POL-1003, SOP-1004, and SOP-1005.  It also has 17 abbreviations/terms that are used in the document.  I would like a table that has all of these items listed for POL-0001, so I can trace which documents are affected by changes.

There are more than 100 terms and over 100 documents to choose from for association. (From what I have read, this eliminates the multiselect option). If I use a table reference, I would have to create as many lookup fields as there are terms for each document. (Same with references).

Are there other ways to approach this?

Thanks!

Becky

• Welcome to Quickbase.  All things are possible.

There are two steps in getting this to work. The first step is to get the relationships and table set up correctly. And then the second step will be to make it easier for you to get the data entered. So first things first. 

Do you have a situation where one Document has many Document  Terms, but also of course, one particular standard document term is going to be used on many documents.